Comment by New Hampshire Voter – January 08, 2008

Posted on January 7, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized |


I watched the New Hampshire Republican Debate conducted by Fox News’ Chris Wallace Monday night. It was followed by Frank Luntz, pollster, questioning a panel of citizens on their views of the candidates’ performance. It was all pretty predictable, but something I heard one woman say has nagged at me ever since. What did she say that so bothers me?

She couldn’t support Mike Huckabee because, she said, “I’m not voting for a pastor. I’m voting for a president.” That’s funny because Mike Huckabee isn’t running for her pastor. He’s running for President of the United States. He’s never asked her to make him her pastor. He’s never said he wants to be anyone’s pastor. He has said he wants to be president of the U.S. Now she can vote for Huckabee because he is not running for pastor.

It’s funny, or not, that she hasn’t yet said, “I can’t support Mitt Romney, because I’m not voting for a corporate CEO. I’m voting for a president.” Perhaps she will soon say, “I can’t support Rudy Giulliani because I’m not voting for a mayor. I’m voting for a president.” Or how about this? “I can’t support Sen. Fred Thompson because I’m not voting for a senator. I’m voting for a president.” All of the candidates had a previous career. Yet, she only picked on the preacher. Why? Why is it fashionable to attack Christians, just because they are Christians? Yes, it’s open season on Christians. At least they aren’t feeding us to lions today! Just denying us the right to run for president. What a change. Many of our past presidents were strong Christians. I wonder what they would say if they were alive today.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

